

Since 2011, the Turmstraße and its surrounding area in Moabit has been labeled a "redevelopment area" (**Sanierungsgebiet**). The goal of redevelopment is, among other things, to improve public spaces, raise the quality of life, and support the structure of small businesses and retailers. A key component of redevelopment areas is the participation and opinions of the residents who live there. In order to achieve this, residents have the opportunity to vote for or run for the "district representation committee" (Stadtteilvertretung) every 2 years. Anyone who lives, works, or owns property in the area is qualified to vote or run for a voluntary position on the committee.

The committee deals with current issues and questions and strives to deliver local solutions and propositions to higher levels of government and administration. The district representation committee works closely with an advisory board (Beirat) made up of members of the district office (Bezirksamt), the Senate Department of Urban Development and Housing, the Commercial Street Management (Geschäftsstraßenmanagement), and the process-control board for the redevelopment area.

The current "work groups" of the committee and some of the topics they are currently working on include:

Education and Culture- Reconstruction of the Bruno-Lösche Library
Public Spaces- Development of the Bremer Straße neighborhood
Communication- Website development
Mobility- Construction of the tram between Turmstraße and Jungfernheide
Construction and Living- The preservation of affordable housing

All residents are warmly welcomed to join the work of any of these groups. Please, contact us!

The committee meets once a month, always in the 4th week. Here, too, we look forward to welcoming dedicated guests. Please send us an e-mail if you are interested.

The current members of the committee are:

- Murat Atas
- · Thomas Bausch
- Anna Berndtson
- Hans-Joachim Bluhm
- Jessica Dietz
- Renée Eloundou
- Afra Heil
- Kay Hilsmann
- Maud Guby
- Ann Katzinski
- Niklas Kretzschmar
- Janek Kuberzig
- Dr. Jakob Paul Morath
- Simone Motzkus
- Christine Pradel
- Amro Said
- Steffen Schmidt
- Rita Schmitt
- Christiane Schweising
- Thomas Smarczyk
- Lukas Stadelmann
- Anna Vobis
- · Katharina Wleklinski
- Malte Zamzow
- Osama Zankawan

The speakers of the committee are: Jessica Dietz, Renée Eloundou, Dr. Jakob Paul Morath, Katharina Wleklinski und Malte Zamzow